The beginning.

The tradition of stringing millions of lights along Chandler Boulevard in Ahwatukee began in 1986 as a way for home builder, Del Webb to promote the Foothills to potential buyers to the community. Once all the housing and land was purchased, Del Webb discontinued the promotional festive-season lighting along the medians.

Three women, residents of Ahwatukee, felt that the lights were a beautiful landmark and should be present each festive season. In 1995, this group of volunteers got the party started again when they established the Festival of Lights as a 501C3 charity to implement substantial community events to raise money and fund the annual lighting. The one million lights throughtout the medians of the Foothills has become an Ahwatukee tradition ever since. A substantial network of energetic and dedicated volunteers has sustained the effort every year since then.

The now.

As of August 2023, the Festival of Lights Association has officially

changed our name to better fit our organization. As of August 2023,

the Festival of Lights is now newly named, Light Up Ahwatukee.

The transition.

In 2020, during the COVID Pandemic, events were cancelled which forced the board to get a lot more creative when it came to fundraising efforts. During this time, the job of the lights transitioned to the Foothills Community Association. 2023 will be the third year that the Foothills Community Association HOA will be managing all aspects of the holiday lights display along Chandler Boulevard with contributions from the community, The Foothills HOA and Club West.

Our board.

Our strength lies in our individuality. Our board has been curated by local community members who donate their time weekly to meet and plan our two epic yearly events.

Maria Reyes-Smith

PRESIDENT AND HEAD SOMMELIER

MARIA@LIGHTUPAHWATUKEE.ORG


Founder / Interior designer

Morgan Vanderwall

PR/MARKETING/SOCIAL CHAIR

MORGAN@VANDERWALLPR.COM


Kimberly Bolton

MARKETPLACE/FOOD/RAFFLE CHAIR

KIMBERLY@LIGHTUPAHWATUKEE.ORG


Andy Hayes

LOGISTICS CHAIR

ANDY@AHWATUKEECHAMBER.COM


“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted." - AESOP

Kristi Ohman

VOLUNTEER CHAIR/SPONSORSHIP

KRISTI@LIGHTUPAHWATUKEE.ORG


Tony Holtz

LOGISTICS CO-CHAIR

TONY@LIGHTUPAHWATUKEE.ORG


Samantha Jackson-Boland

SPONSORSHIP CHAIR

SAMANTHA@SOLDBYLIMITLESS.COM